Assessment of Jeans for Quilting #1

Jeans; whats not to like? They are softer when older, we love them more when they’re older. I  recycle my own jeans when a pair gets a bad stain that I can’t get out or they get a bad tear in a bad spot. Then I cut them into cut off’s. Cut off’s on me were more attractive in my younger years, but still if it works, I start here. If not, maybe the location of the stain is somewhere, say in the crouch area, then I have to recycle the whole pair.

I recycle jeans based on what size they are, what parts of them is usable? Is the zipper intact? Are there things called “Features” on the jeans? Are the jeans a special color, or have special stitching on them? Is the knee area pronounced or still ok?

Once you’ve decided on what parts are the prime pieces to recycle, then I go ahead and cut them up into folded pieces, special feature parts are sorted and stored. If you stay organized as an ardent recycler of clothing as I am into quilting, then its just a matter of time till those jeans dance again.

This soft and toasty quilt is called Sixteen Balls. Made with jeans, new cotton, recycled bark cloth and velour fleece.
One thought on “Assessment of Jeans for Quilting #1

Leave a Reply

