Upcycled Moving Blankets-Updated

I started these two moving truck blankets as an experiment.

Scraps, blocks and strips already pieced went into each outdoor quilts. I used simple running stitch and whip stitch. Nothing fancy, I didn’t plan the layout, just got to it and sewed the blocks and chunks of fabric down onto the moving blanket.

I had washed the moving blankets before doing this project and these blanket do have alot of fuzz that comes off them in washing. So be forewarned, you’ll need to remove excess fluff from washer and dryer.

 

Just random chunks of scraps and look what can happen?

DSCF0259

Chenille Needle a large one does the trick. No real sewing knowledge required here, perfect project for a quilt guild to do or a group for homeless shelters etc.

 

DSCF0266

Or like what my intended use for these blankets were for my friend Pat and her Outdoor Childrens Learning Program is in Vancouver. Muddy Boot PrintsDSCF0289

I was really taken with the simplicity of it all, using up scraps with happy abandon of the project.

DSCF0298DSCF0304

I hope you see value in using this idea for any kind of upcycling project! Good Luck and have fun. If you like what you read, you can read more about this project at Good Earth Quilting.

Best of quilting today and anyday! Thanks for popping in to visit, leave me a comment! I love to know what people think of the ideas I share.

Caroline

Leave a comment